You Can Set Your Watch To It

Webcomic Storyline: 

Old Skool Webcomic, by Christopher B. Wright

Comic Transcript: 

HAIKU: A new coat of paint / though some may wonder why, since / it's the same color

A: Madness. Madness I tell you!

B: What? What are you talking about?

A: Just take a look around. Everything's... different. New. Vaguely shiny.

B: I don't know why you're so surprised. He's been talking about doing this for months.

A: Sure, talking, but I didn't think he'd actually do it. I thought it was like when he talks about writing a new script for PCtown.

B: ... he did that too.

A: Is there NOTHING reliable in this world?

B: Still no Kernel Panic.

Comments

Comments are active for 30 days after publication. If you wish to comment after 30 days please use the Forums.

Did I really just read that???

You wrote a PCTown script?????

Congrats on an apparently successful upgrade! I refuse to call it a beta since I'm already beta-testing something else right now.

One thing I just noticed: after you hit "Preview" when submitting a comment, didn't it formerly ask us to "Preview" again if we edited the comment before finally saving it? Or am I confusing your workflow with LWN?

You really read it.

I have the script but I still need to draw everything.

I think you're confusing my workflow with another sites. You've only ever had to preview once before you can post.

--
Writer, former musician, occasional cartoonist, and noted authority on his own opinions.

I think the question was "CAN we preview again if we want to?"

At least, that's the way I understood him. And since I have a fuzzy recollection of how it works here, I am testing it with the present reply...

Well, after hitting "Preview" (my only choice when first entering this), I do get the two buttons that I THOUGHT I was going to get: "Save" and "Preview". Looks to me like this feature hasn't changed, not recently anyway...

(Now adding this and selecting "Save" without previewing my changed post...)

The Cartoonist had it right...

I know at e.g. LWN.net, the only thing you can do with the edit box contents is preview them again; only the currently-previewed text can actually be posted. So I was conflating the two workflows.

I see...

Actually, forcing a new preview whenever the post is modified seems prudent, and would be my choice if I had any say in this matter (e.g. if I had my own site... ;-).

Thus, forced or not forced by the workflow, I personally make it a habit to always re-preview when I change something (except in the previous test post) , being wary of my own tendency to produce typos, fumbles, etc...